Hi. It looks you're in .

Please select the store you wish to visit:

Mr Bongo Release Round-Up – June/July 2018

The last two months have been extraordinarily busy at Mr Bongo HQ. This is the most releases we've issued in such a short space of time, and so we're celebrating with a round-up of all our most recent re-issues of June and July. 

Cymande – Fug / Brothers On The Slide – 7" Vinyl

Fug’ and ‘Brothers On The Slide’ are two classic, essential Cymande tracks. Taken from their ‘Second Time Round’ and ‘Promised Heights’ LP’s, respectively.



O Seis – Suicidia / Apocalipse – 7" Vinyl

‘O’Seis’ are the core members of the mighty and legendary ‘Os Mutantes’ – namely Rita Lee and brothers Arnaldo and Sérgio Baptista, accompanied here by Raphael Vilardi, Maria ‘Mogguy’ Malheiros and Luiz Pastura.


Cymande – Bra / The Message – 7" Vinyl

Bra’ and ‘The Message’ are two classic funk-soul cuts from the amazing Cymande. Mastered from original tapes. Official Mr Bongo reissue. Cut loud on 7” vinyl with a picture cover sleeve.


Protoje - A Matter Of Time – Vinyl LP/CD 

A MATTER OF TIME is the follow-up to Protoje’s critically acclaimed 2015 full-length, Ancient Future, which featured the hit single “Who Knows” ft Chronixx, which has garnered over 69 million views on YouTube & 5.9 million SoundCloud streams. 


Tunde Mabadu – Viva Disco – Vinyl LP/CD

Official Mr Bongo reissue of the ultra-rare Nigerian disco-boogie, ‘Viva Disco’, album from 1980. Originally released on the Afrodisia label, this one is unknown to even the most knowledgable collectors out there.


Super Elcados – Tambourine Party Vol.2 – Vinyl LP/CD

Official Mr Bongo reissue of the ultra-rare album by ‘Super Elcados’. A fusion of heavyweight Nigerian funk, soul & disco, originally released by EMI Nigeria in 1976.


 Shina Williams & his African Percussionists – Vinyl LP/CD

First official reissue of the extremely rare full-length album by Lagos-based bandleader Shina Williams. Clean copies of the original currently sell for up to £500.

The record was born in 1979 when Shina put Biddy Wright, Fred Fisher, Saliu Alabi, Prince Bola, Tutu Shoronmu, Tunde willimas and several other decorated Nigerian musicians – who played with the likes of Fela Kuti, SJOB Movement, Sonny Okoson, King Bucknor amongst others – together to record. The result is ‘African Dances’, a timeless fusion of afrobeat, electronics, boogie and disco.


Foster Sylvers – Foster Sylvers – Vinyl LP/CD

Brilliant funk-soul from 1973. Written by Leon Sylvers III, produced by a heavyweight line-up comprising Jerry Butler, Keg Johnson and Michael Viner. As with the majority of The Sylvers music from this period, the album has been heavily sampled. ‘Misdemeanour’ is a truly classic break and has been utilised by Madlib, Big Daddy Kane, Rodney P, The D.O.C, Pete Rock and many more. Danny Krivit edited the track in 2007, adding an acappella version on the front – still a big record with DJ’s.


Jackson Sisters – Jackson Sisters – Vinyl LP

Officially reissued at last! Considered by many to be a genuine ‘holy grail’ of soul & funk. Featuring ‘Miracles’ as sampled by Public Enemy, Basement Jaxx, Arrested Development and many more.


The Sylvers – The Sylvers – Vinyl LP/CD

This is a masterpiece. And we mean it. Beautiful, golden-era soul written by Leon Sylvers III, produced by Jerry Butler and Keg Johnson. The Sylvers were a family from Los Angeles who were very successful during the 70’s and into the early 80’s, with chart hits – deep into pop-disco territory by then! – including ‘Boogie Fever’, ‘Hot Line’ and ‘High School Dance’.


Ebo Taylor 'Yen Ara' Remixes Part 1: Ron Trent / Natureboy Flako / Nick The Record – 12" Vinyl

Hand-stamped, loud-cut 12" vinyl featuring remixes by Ron Trent, Natureboy Flako and Nick The Record. Featuring remixes of 'Krumandey' and 'Mumudey Mumudey' taken from Ebo's 2018 'Yen Ara' album for Mr Bongo.